Skip to toolbar

Delhi Literature Festival 2019

For a person who loves books and literature visiting a literature festival is a must today. I also enjoy reading a lot and of course expressing my views and experiences through my stories and try giving them literary and poetic angles. I try not to miss any of the literature festivals in and around Delhi and recently attended the curtain raiser event at Oxford Bookstore for the upcoming Delhi Literature Festival to be held at Dilli Haat, from 8th Feb till 10th Feb from 1:00 pm to 8: 00 pm which was hosted by Bharati Bhargava, Founder Director, Delhi Literature Festival.

An esteemed panel which discussed the details about the festival included Bharati Bhargava, Founder Director, DLF, Rama Pandey Author, eminent Theatre, TV personality & Senior Advisor, DLF, Dr. Mridula Tandon, Founder Sakshi & Curator Mushaira, Dr. Dimple Kaur, Lead Performer on Late Amrita Pritam, and Parull Mahaajan, Social activist and Advisor DLF along with Kunal Gupta, Curator Delhi Literature Festival and Founder Delhi Book Lovers Club.

Delhi Literature Festival which started in the year 2013 is entering into the Seventh Edition in 2019. The objective of the festival is to promote good old habit of book reading and to promote tourism. The first edition of the Delhi Literature Festival was inaugurated by the Delhi Chief Minister Shiela Dikshit and witnessed participation of the Delhi Chief Ministers including Arvind Kejriwal, Manish Sisodia, Union Ministers and Somnath Bharti in the subsequent editions of the Festival.

The Delhi Literature Festival has witnessed active participation from popular Authors& Writers including Ashok Bajpai, Ashok Chakradhar, Ankit Lal, Ashwin Sanghi, Anna Vetticad, Ashish Chaudhary, Blossom Kochhar, Christopher Doyle, Dilip Cherian,Dilip Pandey, Ira Trivedi, Rama Pandey, Rakhshanda Jalil, Ravinder Singh, Munawwar Rana, Madhu Trehan, Omair Ahmad, Om Thanvi, Marya Shakil, Rasbihari Gaur, Nilotpal Mrinal, Divya Prakash Dubey, Kumar Vishwas, Praveen Kumar, , Ritu Nanda, Siddharth Tripathi, Sanil Sachar, Surjit Bhalla, William Dalrymple, Tasleema Nasrin, Sanjaya Baru, Shashi Tharoor, Mani Shankar Aiyar, T K Arun, Vikas Swarup amongst others.

Prominent publishers including Ajay Mago, Om Books International, Swati Daftuer, Commissioning Editor HarperCollins, Milee Ashwarya Editor-in-Chief Penguin Random House and Simran Khara, CEO Juggernaut have actively participated at the Delhi Literature Festival.

The Delhi Literature Festival in the past has received support from the Art, Culture & Language Department, Govt. of NCT of Delhi, Indian Council for Cultural Relations (ICCR), the National Book Trust (NBT), Embassies, Cultural Centres and from the leading Publishers.

Delhi Literature Festival 2019 is Officially Supported by Department of Art, Culture & Language, Govt. of NCT of Delhi, Hindi Academy and Sahitya Kala Parishad.

Oxford Bookstore remains the “Official Bookstore Partner” to the Festival, where all the confirmed authors’, books are available on sale.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *